
	
	

HOW	TO	USE	YOUR	BEANBAG		&	HAT	MECHANICS	
	
	
	
	
	
One	of	the	mysteries	in	football	officiating	involves	when	to	use	a	beanbag.	Almost	nothing	of	its	use	
is	mentioned	in	the	rulebook.	But	it	has	a	definite	purpose	and,	when	used	correctly,	is	an	aid	to	
officiating.	
	
The	beanbag	is	an	official’s	administrative	game	tool	used	to	mark	specific	spots	on	a	football	field	
where	certain	player	or	game	actions	occur.	An	official	shall	use	a	beanbag	to	mark	the	spot:	
	

• Where	a	fumble	occurs.	
	

• Where	a	scrimmage	kick	ends.	
	

• Where	the	kicking	team	first	touches	a	kick	in	certain	situations	(to	be	discussed	in	detail	
later	in	this	document).	

	
• Where	the	ball	is	caught	or	recovered	when	the	Momentum	Exception	applies.	

	
• Where	the	ball	is	located	when	an	Inadvertent	Whistle	occurs.	

	
NOTE:	A	beanbag	is	not	needed	to	indicate	the	spot	where	a	free	kick	ends	or	where	or	where	a	pass	
is	intercepted.	Those	spots	will	never	be	used	for	penalty	enforcement.	It	is	also	not	to	be	used	as	a	
substitute	for	hustle.	When	working	as	a	Wing	official,	if	a	runner	goes	out	of	bounds	several	yards	
downfield	from	your	position,	do	not	throw	the	beanbag,	and	then	run	to	the	spot.	Hustle	to	the	spot	
as	you	would	for	any	other	play.	
	
All	officials	should	carry	at	least	one	beanbag,	usually	folded	over	the	belt	opposite	your	flag.	
Beanbags	should	be	either,	white,	blue	or	black,	depending	on	crew	or	assigner	preference.	The	
official	(usually	the	Back	Judge)	that	rules	on	action	on	and	by	the	punt	receivers	must	have	two	
beanbags.	One	to	mark	the	end	of	the	kick	and	the	other	to	indicate	the	spot	of	first	or	illegal	
touching.	At	times,	both	of	those	spots	must	be	covered.	Other	officials	may	never	need	a	second	
beanbag,	but	it	doesn’t	hurt	to	have	two.	
	
Let’s	break	down	the	situations	in	which	an	official	needs	to	have	a	beanbag	down:	
	
Fumbles.	The	spot	where	a	ball	is	fumbled	is	important	because	it	identifies	where	the	run	ends.	
For	fouls	during	the	interval	between	the	fumble	and	the	recovery	(while	the	ball	is	loose),	we	need	
to	know	the	basic	spot	for	penalty	enforcement.	
	
Play	1:		First	down	and	10	for	team	A	at	its	20	yardline.	A1	runs	to	team	B’s	35	yardline,	where	he	
fumbles.	While	the	ball	is	loose,	A2	holds	at	team	B’s	40	yardline.	A3	falls	on	the	ball	at	team	B’s	45	
yardline.				



Ruling	1:		The	basic	enforcement	spot	for	the	penalty	is	team	B’s	35	yardline,	where	the	fumble	
occurred.	The	covering	official	must	drop	a	beanbag	to	mark	the	fumble	spot.	Since	the	spot	of	the	
foul	is	in	advance	of	the	fumble,	enforcement	is	from	the	spot	of	the	fumble.	Thus,	it	is	team	A’s	ball,	
first	down	and	five	at	team	A	‘s	25	yardline.	
	
Scrimmage	Kick.		A	beanbag	should	be	dropped	where	a	scrimmage	kick	ends.	That	is	the	Post	
Scrimmage	Kick	(PSK)	spot.	If	a	PSK	foul	occurs	during	the	kick,	the	PSK	spot	is	the	basic	spot	for	
penalty	enforcement	(NCAA	R10-2-2e	Exception	3).	
	
Play	2:		R1	muffs	a	punt	at	his	35	yardline.	The	ball	rolls	forward	to	team	R’s	40	yardline.	R1	picks	
up	the	ball	there	and	runs	to	midfield,	where	he	is	tackled.	While	the	ball	was	loose	from	R1’s	muff,	
R2	clipped	K1	at	team	R’s	45	yardline.			
Ruling	2:	The	kick	ended	where	R1	possessed	the	kick,	not	where	he	muffed	the	ball.	A	beanbag	
should	be	dropped	at	team	R’s	40	yardline	(the	PSK	spot),	which	is	the	spot	for	penalty	
enforcement.	The	result	is	team	R’s	ball,	first	and	10	from	its	25	yardline.			
	
First	or	illegal	touching.	A	beanbag	should	be	dropped	when	the	kicking	team	first	touches	a	kick	
in	certain	situations.		For	Free	Kicks,	team	K	cannot	be	first	to	touch	the	ball	unless	it	has	gone	10	
yards	beyond	the	restraining	line.	For	Scrimmage	Kicks,	team	K	cannot	first	touch	the	ball	beyond	
the	neutral	zone.	NCAA	uses	the	term	“illegal	touching”	(R6-1-3,		R6-3-2a).	
	
Play	3:		Team	K	attempts	an	onside	kick.	The	ball	hits	the	ground,	touches	K1’s	leg	before	it	travels	
10	yards,	then	rolls	several	more	yards,	where	K2	falls	on	it.	
Ruling	3:		A	beanbag	should	have	been	dropped	where	K1	was	contacted	by	the	ball.	That	is	the	
location	of	the	illegal	touching.	Team	will	likely	choose	to	start	a	new	series,	first	and	10	at	the	spot	
of	K1’s	touching.	
	
Play	4:		K1’s	punt	beyond	the	neutral	zone	is	rolling	when	K2	touches	it	at	team	R’s	20	yardline.	The	
ball	rolls	to	team	R’s	5	yardline,	where	K3	falls	on	it.	
Ruling	4:		A	beanbag	should	be	dropped	at	team	R’s	20	yardline	because	that	is	the	spot	of	K1’s	
touching.	It	is	team	R’s	ball,	first	and	10	at	its	20	yardline.	
	
Do	not	blow	your	whistle	when	the	kicking	team	is	guilty	of	first	or	illegal	touching.	Drop	your	
beanbag	(not	your	Flag)	and	allow	the	play	to	continue	top	its	end.	
	
It	is	a	violation	in	NCAA	if	an	untouched	scrimmage	kick	is	batted	backward	by	team	K	while	the	ball	
is	in	the	air	after	breaking	the	goalline	plane	(R6-3-11).	When	that	happens,	drop	a	beanbag	in	the	
end	zone	where	the	bat	took	place	and	allow	the	play	to	continue.	One	of	the	team	R’s	options	is	to	
accept	a	touchback	when	the	play	ends.	
	
Momentum.			NCAA	has	a	momentum	exception	(NCAA	R8-5-1b;	Exc.	1	&	2).	If	a	team	B	or	team	R	
player	catches	or	recovers	a	loose	ball	inside	his	own	five-yard	line	and	his	original	momentum	
takes	him	into	his	end	zone	where	the	ball	subsequently	becomes	dead	in	his	team’s	possession,	
team	B	or	R	gets	the	ball	at	the	spot	where	possession	was	gained.	Drop	a	beanbag	where	the	ball	is	
caught,	intercepted	or	recovered.	
	
Play	5:		B1	intercepts	a	pass,	recovers	a	team	A	fumble	or	catches	a	kick	at	his	own	4	yardline.	His	
momentum	carries	him	into	his	end	zone,	where	he	is	tackled.		
Ruling	5:		An	official	should	drop	a	beanbag	at	team	B’s	4	yardline.	That	is	where	B1	possessed	the	
ball.	Since	the	momentum	rule	applies,	the	beanbag	marks	the	spot	at	which	team	B	will	get	the	ball.	
The	result	is	first	and	10	for	team	B	from	its	4	yardline.	



	
Inadvertent	Whistle:		If	the	ball	is	in	possession	of	a	player	when	an	inadvertent	whistle	is	
sounded,	the	location	of	the	ball	is	important	because	it	will	determine	whether	the	team	in	
possession	takes	the	result	of	the	play	or	if	the	down	is	to	be	replayed	(NCAA	R4-1-2).	
	
Play	6:		First	and	10	for	team	A	from	its	20	yardline.	A1	has	the	ball	on	a	running	play	when	an	
official	sounds	an	inadvertent	whistle.	When	the	whistle	is	sounded,	A1	is	at	team	A’s	(a)	12	
yardline,	or	(b)	35	yardline.		
Ruling	6:		In	(a),	team	A	will	obviously	ask	for	a	replay	of	the	down	rather	than	accept	an	8-yard	loss.	
In	(b),	team	A	will	likely	accept	the	result	of	the	play	and	begin	a	new	series	at	its	own	35	yardline.	
	
MECHANICS:		A	beanbag	should	be	dropped	and	not	thrown.	It	does	not	have	to	land	on	the	specific	
blade	of	grass	where	the	fumble,	touching	or	possession	took	place;	it	only	needs	to	be	on	the	
appropriate	yardline.	Do	not	launch	your	beanbag	overhand	to	attempt	to	hit	the	exact	spot	on	the	
other	side	of	the	field.	You	will	probably	be	off	by	a	yard	or	two.	An	underhanded	throw	of	the	
beanbag	is	desirable	since	it	is	more	passive	than	the	use	of	a	penalty	flag.	Have	a	beanbag	in	hand	
before	the	kickoff	of	an	onside	kick	is	anticipated.	
	
If	you	are	in	doubt	whether	to	drop	a	beanbag	or	not,	go	ahead	and	use	it.		There	is	no	such	thing	as	
an	“inadvertent	beanbag”.	Nothing	has	to	be	explained	to	players	or	coaches.	
	
	
	
																																	HAT	MECHANICS	
	
HAT	Play	7:		A1	steps	out	of	bounds	while	running	a	pass	pattern.	He	catches	pass	inbounds	after	it	
(a)	was	first	touched	by	B1,	(b)	was	touched	by	A2,	or	(c)	was	untouched	by	any	other	player.	
Ruling	7:		In	all	three	cases,	a	HAT	should	be	dropped	where	A1	went	out	of	bounds.	There	is	no	foul	
in	(a)	because	a	team	B	player	first	touched	the	ball	(R7-3-4).	It	is	illegal	touching	in	(b)	and	(c).	The	
penalty	is	loss	of	down	at	the	previous	spot	(R7-3-4).	There	is	no	foul	if	the	receiver	returns	and	
does	not	touch	the	pass.	
	
HAT	Play	8:		A1	is	forced	out	of	bounds	by	B1	before	a	pass	is	thrown.	A1	(a)	comes	right	back	onto	
the	field	or	(b)	continues	to	run	20	yards	while	in	team	A’s	team	area	before	coming	back	onto	the	
field.	In	both	cases,	A1	catches	the	pass	inbounds.	
Ruling	8:	An	officials	HAT	should	be	dropped	where	A1	went	out	of	bounds.	In	(a),	because	A1	
returned	to	the	field	immediately,	there	is	no	penalty;	the	pass	is	complete	ands	the	play	stands.	
(R7-3-4	Exc.).	In	(b),	A1	is	guilty	of	illegal	touching	because	he	did	not	try	to	return	immediately.	
The	penalty	is	loss	of	down	from	the	previous	spot.	
	
HAT	Play	9:		During	a	kick	off	or	punt	K1	runs	around	R1	at	team	R’s	40	yardline	to	avoid	being	
blocked.	That	causes	K1	to	be	off	the	field	for	several	steps.	K1	then	comes	back	inbounds	to	tackle	
R2.	
Ruling	9:			An	official	should	drop	his	HAT	at	team	R’s	40	yardline.	When	K1	comes	back	onto	the	
field,	a	penalty	flag	should	be	thrown	(R6-1-2f;		R6-3-12).	That	results	in	a	5-yard	penalty	from	the	
previous	spot.	


